3rd CALL FOR PAPERS

Fifteenth European Conference on Symbolic and Quantitative Approaches to Reasoning with Uncertainty

ECSQARU 2019

September 18-20, 2019
Belgrade (Serbia)
http://www.mi.sanu.ac.rs/~ecsqaru2019/

Invited Speakers:

Fabio Gagliardi Cozman, University of Sao Paulo Lluís Godo, Artificial Intelligence Research Institute (IIIA), CSIC Francesca Toni, Imperial College London

The biennial ECSQARU conferences constitute a major forum for advances in the theory and practice of reasoning under uncertainty, with a focus on bringing symbolic and quantitative aspects together. Contributions come from researchers interested in advancing the scientific knowledge and from practitioners using uncertainty techniques in real-world applications. The scope of the ECSQARU conferences encompasses fundamental issues, representation, inference, learning, and decision making in qualitative and numeric uncertainty paradigms.

Previous ECSQARU events have been held in Marseille (1991), Granada (1993), Fribourg (1995), Bonn (1997), London (1999), Toulouse (2001), Aalborg (2003), Barcelona (2005), Hammamet (2007), Verona (2009), Belfast (2011), Utrecht (2013), Compiègne (2015), and Lugano (2017).

::: SCOPE :::

For ECSQARU 2019 we invite submissions of original papers on topics which include but are not limited to:

- Algorithms for uncertain inference
- Applications of uncertain systems
- Argumentation systems
- Automated planning and acting under uncertainty
- Belief functions
- Belief change & merging
- Classification & clustering
- Decision theory & decision graphs
- Default reasoning

- Description logics with uncertainty
- Foundations of reasoning under uncertainty
- Fuzzy sets & fuzzy logic
- Game theory
- Hybrid reasoning
- Imprecise probabilities
- Inconsistency handling
- Information fusion Learning for uncertainty formalisms
- Learning for uncertainty formalisms
- Logics for reasoning under uncertainty
- Markov decision processes
- Possibility theory & possibilistic logic
- Preferences
- Probabilistic graphical models
- Probabilistic logics
- Qualitative uncertainty models
- Rough sets
- Uncertainty & data

::: PROCEEDINGS :::

In accordance with the previous conferences, the proceedings of ECSQARU 2019 will be published in the Springer Lecture Notes in Artificial Intelligence series. In addition to that, extended versions of selected papers will be published in a special issue of the International Journal of Approximate Reasoning. A Best Paper Award supported by Springer will be granted at the conference.

::: SUBMISSIONS :::

Authors are requested to prepare their conference papers in the LNCS/LNAI format. Submitted papers must be original and not under review in a journal or another venue with formally published proceedings. They will be evaluated by peer reviews based on originality, significance, technical soundness, and clarity of exposition. Reviewing will be double-blind, so names of authors and affiliations must be omitted from the paper. Authors of accepted papers are expected to attend the conference to present their work, at least one author of each paper must register for the conference.

Submitted papers must be at most 10 pages (excluding references) in the Springer LNCS/LNAI format. Submissions will be through EasyChair:

https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=ecsqaru2019

::: IMPORTANT DATES :::

May 3, 2019: Abstract submission deadline May 10, 2019: Paper submission deadline

June 11, 2019: Author notification Sept 18-20, 2019: ECSQARU 2019

::: ORGANIZATION :::

Co-Chairs:

========

Gabriele Kern-Isberner
Department of Computer Science
TU Dortmund, Germany
gabriele.kern-isberner@cs.uni-dortmund.de

Zoran Ognjanović (also Local Organization) Mathematical Institute SANU Belgrade, Serbia (ex: Serbia and Montenegro, Yugoslavia) zorano@mi.sanu.ac.rs

Program Committee:

Leila Amgoud, IRIT, France Alessandro Antonucci, IDSIA, Switzerland Ringo Baumann, Leipzig University, Germany Christoph Beierle, University of Hagen, Germany Vaishak Belle, University of Edinburgh, UK Concha Bielza, Technical University of Madrid, Spain Isabelle Bloch, ENST-LTCI, France Guy van den Broeck, University of California, US Giovanni Casini, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg Laurence Cholvy, ONERA-Toulouse, France Giulianella Coletti, Univesity of Perugia, Italy Ines Couso, University of Oviedo, Spain Fabio G. Cozman, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil Fabio Cuzzolin, Oxford Brookes University, UK Luis (M.) De Campos, University of Granada, Spain Thierry Deneoux, University of Technology of Compiegne, France Sebastien Destercke, University of Technology of Compiegne, France Dragan Doder, University of Belgrade, Serbia Florence Dupin de Saint-Cyr, IRIT, France

Zied Elouedi, Institut Superieur de Gestion de Tunis, Tunisia

Patricia Everaere, University of Lille 1, France

Alessandro Facchini, IDSIA, Switzerland

Eduardo Ferme, University of Madeira, Spain

Tommaso Flaminio, IIIA - CSIC, Spain

Laurent Garcia, University of Angers, France

Laura Giordano, Università del Piemonte Orientale, Italy

Lluis Godo, Spanish National Research Council, Spain

Anthony Hunter, University College London, UK

Nebojsa Ikodinovic, University of Belgrade, Serbia

Souhila Kaci, LIRMM, France

Sebastien Konieczny, CRIL, France

Jerome Lang, LAMSADE, France

Florence Le Ber, ENGEES, France

Philippe Leray, University of Nantes, France

Peter Lucas, Radboud University, Netherlands

Carsten Lutz, University of Bremen, Germany

Francesca Mangili, IDSIA, Switzerland

Choh Man Teng, Florida Institute for Human and Machine Cognition, US

Pierre Marquis, University of Artois, France

Maria Vanina Martinez, University of Oxford, UK

David Mercier, University of Artois, France

Thomas Meyer, University of Cape Town and CAIR, South Africa

Enrique Miranda, University of Oviedo, Spain

Serafin Moral, University of Granada, Spain

Farid Nouioua, LSIS, France

Odile Papini, LSIS UMR CNRS, France

Davide Petturiti, University of Perugia, Italy

Nico Potyka, University of Osnabrueck, Germany

Henri Prade, IRIT, France

Silja Renooij, Utrecht University, Netherlands

Guillermo Simari, Universidad del Sur in Bahia Blanca, Argentina

Karim Tabia, CRIL, France

Rafael Testa, Unicamp, Brazil

Matthias Thimm, University of Koblenz-Landau, Germany

Matthias Troffaes, Durham University, UK

Linda Van der Gaag, Utrecht University, Netherlands

Leon van der Torre, University of Luxembourg,

Ivan Varzinczak, University of Artois and CNRS, France

Jirka Vomlel, Czech Academy of Sciences, Czech Republic

Renata Wassermann, University of Sao Paulo, Brazil

Stefan Woltran, Vienna University of Technology, Austria

Eric Würbel, LSIS/INCA, France
