Short Biography of Professor Subhash C. Sinha

Dr. Subhash C. Sinha currently holds the rank of an *Alumni Professor* in the Department of Mechanical Engineering at Auburn University, AL, USA. After receiving his Ph. D. degree from Wayne State University (Detroit, Michigan) in 1977, he has served on the faculty of Kansas State University, State University of New York-Binghamton, and Auburn University where he has been for the past 24 years. During 2002-2005, Dr. Sinha had the honor of serving as a *Philpott-WestPoint Stevens Distinguished Professor* in the College of Engineering. He has also held a Senior Research Engineer position at Ford Motor Company and a *Visiting Professor* appointment at *INSA*, *Lyon*, France. He spent his sabbatical year (2007-2008) as a *Fulbright Scholar* at the University of Mauritius in Mauritius.

For over 25 years, Professor Sinha has been developing new innovative techniques for the dynamic analysis of parametrically excited systems, such as slidercrank mechanisms, structures subjected to in-plane dynamic loads, helicopter blades, rotor bearing systems, and satellites to name a few. The developments constitute a new set of analytical, symbolic and numerical tools that are currently being employed by researchers around the world for the analysis and control of nonlinear periodic and chaotic systems/ structures, and bio-dynamical systems. His research has been supported by the National Science Foundation (NSF), Army Research Office (ARO), Air Force Office of Scientific Research (AFOSR), NASA, National Research Council (NRC) and private industries. Professor Sinha has supervised several graduate students and Post Doctoral Fellows; many of those hold faculty positions at major universities in Taiwan, India, Canada and United States. Professor Sinha has authored/coauthored over 200 refereed journal articles, conference publications, book chapters, presentations and editorials. Currently, he serves as the Founding Editor for the ASME Journal of Computational and Nonlinear Dynamics. For six years, Dr. Sinha served as one of the Associate Editors for the ASME Journal of Vibration and Acoustics and a founding member of the editorial board of Nonlinear Dynamics. He is also a member of the editorial boards of Journal of Vibration and Control, International Journal of Acoustics and Vibration, Mechanics Based Design of Structures and Machines, International Journal of Nonlinear Science and Numerical Simulations and International Journal of Nonlinear Mechanics.

Professor Sinha has received numerous awards for his exemplary service to the ASME. He has served as chairs of three ASME technical committees, the chair of the Design Engineering Division, and chairs of two International ASME Design. Eng. Tech. Conferences (IDETC). Professor Sinha is the recipient of the N. O. Myklestad Award, given by the ASME in recognition of a major innovative contribution to vibration engineering. He has also received the prestigious Robert E. Abbott award from ASME. He is a *Fellow* of ASME (The American Society of Mech. Engineers) and an *Associate Fellow* of AIAA (The American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics).